The Seven Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins are given as:

  • Pride
  • Greed
  • Lust
  • Envy
  • Gluttony
  • Wrath
  • Sloth

Note however that the "seven deadly sins" do not come from the Bible. Someone else came up with it.

In fact, the only reference in the Bible to the seven things God hates are from Proverbs.

These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:
A proud look,
A lying tongue,
And hands that shed innocent blood,
An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations,
Feet that be swift in running to mischief,
A false witness that speaketh lies,
And he that soweth discord among brethren.

- Proverbs 6:16-19 (KJV)

Most sin actually comes from three categories:

For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.
- 1 John 2:16 (KJV)

Please remember that all sin is deadly.

For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.
- Romans 6:23 (KJV)